Day 3 Brings Us to Cedar Point

this is my excited face

this is my excited face

I woke up before the alarm (approx. 7am) on day three of epic road trip because I knew it was Cedar Point day. The last time I was at Cedar Point, it was the summer of 2000 when Millennium Force opened. It was the last thing I did before my family moved to Tennessee. I chose not to wait 3 hours to ride that ride and hit up many of the other coasters.

I laughed to the point of tears when I saw this. Paul says "Did I sleep on my stomach?" I was like "Clearly not" haha

I laughed to the point of tears when I saw this. Paul says “Did I sleep on my stomach?” I was like “Clearly not” haha

We went to the Cracker Barrel to consume as many calories as possible to fuel our day. The goal was to avoid the insane prices of products and food at the park. I ate eggs, French toast, and delicious chewy bacon with my cup of coffee. It absolutely hit the spot. Paul ate a lot more food, but the guy seems to just need a lot of food to be satisfied. It blows my mind. Once we were fat and happy, it was time to make our way to the park!

We got there a bit before 10am when the gates open, purchased tickets, and joined the line (that did not open on time) to get in… then once we got in, we discovered that the back of the park, where the roller coasters are, was blocked off until 11am to allow for the early access pass people to hit them up. We stalled for time by stopping by Starbucks and then moseyed on over to where everyone was congregating near the chains. They played the National Anthem and then it was officially time to play!

I KNEW without a shadow of a doubt that I wanted to start with Millennium Force since I had been wanting to ride that one for 14 years. So that’s where we began. 300 foot drop at 93 miles per hour, I was not able to keep my arms in the air the whole time. Turns out I’m kind of a pansy. But I loved it. It was amazeballs. Maverick… with it’s two inversions and twistedness… was wonderful so long as I held my hands near my head since there were a lot of quick changes of direction. Mean Streak built in 1991 and almost a mile long… was an abusive ride. It’s a wooden rollercoaster. It’s one helluva wooden rollercoaster though. We took what I call an “illegal selfie” while on the Mean Streak 😉

It’s funny to watch my hair progress through the day. Here, the selfie and ride pair is in columns…

IMG_4418

Cedar Creek Mine Ride… was a waste of my time but there wasn’t really a wait and it was nice to ride something lame following the Mean Streak. Gemini… was just an average rollercoaster, but I also enjoyed it a ton (I remembered it from the first trip). Magnum XL200 (built in 1989 it was the tallest, fastest, and steepest at the time)… this one seems to remain in the top 10 of US roller coasters and I can absolutely understand why. It was a lot of fun and I think I managed to keep my hands up (it was a challenge though). Magnum provided the opportunity for another “illegal selfie”. I got off that pumped up and ready to conquer my fear. All day I stared at this ride and had fear tremors. I wish I was kidding.

IMG_4419

Top Thrill Dragster… 0-120 in 3.8 seconds height of 420 and drop of 400 in a total of 17 seconds… I waited in line for about an hour for this. The longer I waited, the more terrified I grew. Paul was legitimately excited about it. I could see it on his face. He doesn’t show excitement often, in fact, the only other time was as he was preparing to propose to me. Anyway, the ride… whoa. It was insane. Completely thrilling, that’s for damn sure. (see picture below for the straight up and down lookin thing… that’s part of the roller coaster). The last rollercoaster we hit up was the GateKeeper (opened last year)… one of 7 wing coasters (where both sides are level with the track nothing above or below) and has set a lot of the records for rollercoasters of this type. We waited very patiently for an hour (we passed the time by looking for where we would have dinner) and then it was time to go. It was a fantastic way to finish the day. I thoroughly enjoyed that ride.

IMG_4420

As always, there were other shenanigans going on throughout the day…

IMG_4425

We left the park and searched for the car for about 15 minutes before heading toward Toledo.

Now that you’re tired of looking at selfies and pictures of my husband and I and reading about rollercoasters, it is time to discuss my carbo-loading dinner at La Scola Italian Grill in Toledo, OH. And by discuss, I mean show you. 😉

Calamari with Peppers

Calamari with Peppers

My food: Baked Spaghetti (w/ Italian Sausage)

My food: Baked Spaghetti (w/ Italian Sausage)

Paul's dinner: La Scola Trio w/ homemade lasagna, chicken parmigiana, and creamy fettuccini alfredo

Paul’s dinner: La Scola Trio w/ homemade lasagna, chicken parmigiana, and creamy fettuccini alfredo

We don't remember what it was, but it was INCREDIBLE. It was chocolaty with Kahlua and chocolate chips. Mmm

We don’t remember what it was, but it was INCREDIBLE. It was chocolaty with Kahlua and chocolate chips. Mmm

I ate until I couldn’t anymore. Then we practically rolled to the hotel and went to bed quite content at about 10pm after I laid out all of my gear for the 50k coming too soon.

5 thoughts on “Day 3 Brings Us to Cedar Point

  1. Pingback: Day 5&6- Mackinac Adventures | The Road to Physical Fitness

Leave a Reply

