Sunday Nine

Everyone has their Friday 5… 10 lists… Or whatever.
Welcome to a Sunday Nine!

AHHH. I spent a long time blogging this list from my phone while at work last night and then posted it and it only did the first 4… DOH. No wonder no one liked it… someone could have told me!

9 Food Staples in Our Kitchen

IMG_3903.JPG

9. Veggies- I’m being generic here because we have them all… Broccoli, spinach, peppers, onions… Etc etc

IMG_3905.JPG

8. Chia Seeds- I love these crunchy little guys. And they are nutritionally dense!

IMG_3906.JPG7. Milk- I’m not sure if my husband can survive without it. And I love my ovaltine milk 🙂 We buy whole and organic.

IMG_3907.JPG

6. Eggs- we can easily go through 18 in a week (it would be more if the husband ate breakfast at home all 7 days of the week instead of only 4-5 due to the Army feeding him)

IMG_3908

5. Bananas- easy to toss into gym bag to consume after a run or workout. good for the body. badda-bing-badda-boom

IMG_39094. Sweet Potatoes- “po-ta-toes… boil ’em, mash ’em, put ’em in A STEW”… (air five to anyone that knows what movie that comes from) Anyway… Literally though… Mashed, Hashed, Baked, Sauteed, Grilled… I love sweet potatoes.

IMG_39113. Almond Butter- most mornings, this makes an appearance in my diet. I could probably demolish an entire jar, but I have a strict “NO SPOON IN THE JAR” policy. So far, so good.

IMG_39102. Ezekial Bread- (especially cinnamon raisin and flax seed variations) slather on 3, sprinkle on some 8, slice up some 5… it makes for a tasty way to fuel up for a workout. It has yet to fail me.

LAST, BUT NOT LEAST… THIS SHOULD COME AS NO SURPRISE IF YOU HAVE BEEN READING MY RECENT POSTS….

IMG_39131. Guacamole- it’s delicious on eggs, it saves dry burgers, it makes for a tasty snack when mixed with tuna… is there anything this wonderful food can’t do?!? (please note: that is not enough guac on the burger… the person that made that is certifiable… probably a really nice person since that leaves more for me)

IMG_3914

 

Interesting fact: the top 4 are all things I have developed a taste for over the course of the past year. In the past, I would have had 4 different staples: oatmeal, cheese, M&Ms (the addiction was for real), and microwavable lunches (Hot Pockets, Bagel Bites, michelina’s, and Pasta bowls).

What foods supply the foundation of your grocery lists?
What are some of your staples of the past?

Leave a Reply

