Buffalo Chicken Stuffed Peppers

Here I sit… coffeeless because the coffee that was brewed was so badly burned that it’s a crime…

out of coffeeTo make matters worse? there is some dude in here working with me (I’m an ambulance dispatcher tonight)… I usually work alone, he makes noises, has the TV on…. he’s “training” yet he isn’t answering the phones… I’m like “WTF dude, I know how to do my job… you’re the one that doesn’t so how about you answer the 9-1-1 phone?!?!?” inside my head but out loud I’m like *picks up phone* “9-1-1 where’s your emergency”….. I feel like he’s over there thinking…

horribly busyI know, I know… I’m being mean. Hold on… I need a funny animal meme to save me…

i love you lamphahahahaha. okay. i’m better. another one couldn’t hurt though…

say nothinghahahahaha. ohhhh cats are so fun. Okay, I am ready to move forward with my life. I’m not the only person that turns to memes to cheer myself up, right?… Moving on!

I made my return to CrossFit today after two days “rest” after the competition. I say rest like that because I had a 4mi shakeout run on Monday followed by stretching and an Epsom salt bath. Tuesday, I took the dog on a 2mi brisk walk and then took another Epsom salt bath. Apparently, those baths are magical…

return to crossfitI do not typically walk around such a shade of near crimson… I am smiling because I was thrilled. I managed to complete this in 19:54 and beat the 3 guys in my class. One of them flipped me off… it was a compliment of sorts. πŸ™‚ I then looked at the board and only one other person had clocked a time under 20. So I was quite thrilled. One thing I don’t get about this pic is the fact is disguises the amount of sweating I was doing (maybe because I was in front of a giant fan?). I was straight slinging sweat when I was doing my situps and back extensions. I dominated. πŸ™‚

So how about I share one of those recipes that the husband and I have enjoyed recently?

Buffalo Chicken Stuffed Bell Peppers (original site has guacamole recipe… I was lazy and just used the prepackaged guacamole. It works better in our home)… these photos ARE mine (clearly, who accidentally cuts too close and loses the stem 3/4 times if you’re like a semi-professional chef person). They are Paleo. They are yummy.

IMG_3716

“Ingredients
  • 4 chicken breasts
  • 1 medium onion, sliced
  • Β½ teaspoon each: dried parsley, dried dill, dried chives, garlic powder, onion powder
  • sea salt and pepper, to taste
  • extra butter, ghee, or other fat of choice for greasing and baking
  • 4 peppers (I like using yellow or orange, but use what you like!), tops cut off and seeds cleaned out
  • Β½ cup hot sauce* (I use THIS)
  • ΒΌ cup butter* or ghee

IMG_3712

Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix your dried spices together.
  3. Place your chicken breast and sliced onions in a single layer on a greased or parchment paper lined baking pan.
  4. Sprinkle the entire pan with dried spices. Salt and pepper, to taste.
  5. Place a small pat of butter or other fat of choice over each chicken breast.
  6. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until chicken is cooked through.
  7. While chicken is cooking, melt ΒΌ cup butter in a pot over medium low heat. Once melted add in hot sauce and stir. Set aside.
  8. Once chicken is cooked, run a knife through the chicken and onions until chicken is in small bite size pieces.
  9. Combine chicken with the hot sauce mixture.
  10. Spoon chicken mixture evenly in all 4 peppers.
  11. Place stuffed peppers in a baking pan.
  12. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until peppers are softened to your liking.
  13. Serve with Guacamole. Enjoy!”

IMG_3714These are every bit as delicious as they look. Honest. We ate ours with another veggie for a side. But for some people it may be filling enough as is. Hubby and I chopped our peppers up and slathered on some guacamole. Recently guacamole has become a staple in our lives.About a year ago, I hated guacamole. I’m not entirely sure when that changed?

OHHHHHHHHHHHHH my goodness. Now he’s eating something that comes out of a crinkly wrapper. WE’RE IN A CONFINED SPACE. He’s driving me nutssssssssssssssss. That sound literally causes my body to clinch… I get nauseous if it is prolonged. He is watching Hardcore Pawn (a show I can’t stand)… smacking his mouth. I feel like I’m being tortured slowly right now. He’s burped approximately 4 times within the last 90 seconds…. AGGGGGGGGGGGGOOOOOOOOOOOOOONYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY.

Do you have a food that you used to hate and then suddenly you love it?
What’s your pet peeve? What just absolutely drives you nuts?
When was the last time you felt like you straight dominated a workout?

11 thoughts on “Buffalo Chicken Stuffed Peppers

    • Haha. I still hate broccoli. Just raw broccoli. Maybe one day I will suddenly love it too.
      Oooooh. That could possibly be insanely annoying! You must be skilled to tone them out. I am not. My skill was simple… not committing assault or murder.

  1. Those look amazing! I have leftover cooked chicken that I need to do something with and I think this recipe wins! πŸ™‚

    I still hate all the things I’ve always hated, food wise.

    And, I’m not sure but I think maybe Slacker Runner and I work together because I have a coworker that does that, too. Except her talking is more bitching about everything. All the time. Out loud. And she interrupts. And she clips her nails at her desk. I am so over her today. Gah!

    • give it a shot, your tastebuds will thank you πŸ™‚

      well, at least you know what to expect!

      hahaha. Jennifer! Does said coworker seem to talk even if no one is around? i’ve been there before.

      • Constantly! (I think. I mean, who’s there to hear her if no one is around? Haha! But, I have left the space and returned to her talking out loud. The real fun happens when she answers herself.) I can deal with it most days but some days, not so much. Good times in cubicle land!

      • I do not envy you. HOWEVER. one of the reasons I like to work alone is because I do talk to myself on occasion. and I do answer myself… don’t judge me πŸ˜₯

  2. I can think of a food I used to love and now I hate – bagels. I ate them all the time and then just couldn’t eat another and still haven’t eaten one for a long time. People who walk really slow for no reason drive me crazy, like they don’t have a limp or have a cane, they just walk slow.

Leave a Reply

