Return to CrossFit and Apple Cinnamon Paleo Pancakes

After an insanely productive Monday, I made my return to CrossFit that night where the WOD was “simply” 5 rounds of 6 heavy push press, 12 burpees, and 30 air squats. I made the mistake of walking in that box feeling like I was gonna move the earth…  I was reminded that faithfulness to iron is the only way to increase strength. Training for a marathon and little to no iron left me weaker than my mind imagined. ha. I started out with 85# on the bar and was only able to complete two rounds. I fought darn hard for those two. I was able to snag a coach and hollar that I cannot physically push that up any longer and like a Nascar pitcrew they swooped in and changed my 35# plates to 25#. I was then able to complete the task with a time of 14:24 and it was not without difficulty.  I then proceeded to go outside and lay on the cement for 5-7 min to make the world stop breathing in on me (the woaaah-woaaah-woaaah pulsating world feeling). This week’s score is CrossFit: 1 Jayme:0 I should mention that my 1RM is only 95# and I’m proud of my 85# 12 times. I should also mention that it became apparent quickly that I was not hydrated properly.IMG_0273[1]

I worked a 12 hr overnight shift and managed to make a meal plan for this week, a grocery list, and a couple of spreadsheets for accountability (one for pushup challenge and one for water consumption), design a to-do list for the week, and snag a couple of hours of sleep divided into several naps. After work, I went straight to the grocery store.
IMG_0281[1] IMG_0277[1] I did manage to find everything quickly and without issue but it took two stores. I  was able to resist the alluring temptation of Thin Mint coffee creamer AND M&Ms. I got strawberries and granola and dried fruit pouches as my little treats.  I managed to finally find jalapeno artichoke dip for Paul and also snagged him some pecans that I will spicy roast for him. 🙂

I took it upon myself to clean out the fridge, do the dishes, take out the trash, and finally brew coffee because I knew I had some online computer training for the Army to do (and it seems I reeeeeeeeeeeeally wanted to postpone it. ha), then pushup challenge (SUCKED post burpees), yoga, and a 2hr nap.

Now allow me to share with you apple cinnamon paleo pancakes

IMG_0275[1]Salivating yet? I was so excited when I made these and then they fueled me for both Monday and Tuesday mornings…. mmmmm…. and they are EASY to make, but they come with a bit of a funny story. There was a lot going on in the kitchen and my wonderful husband had decided to help…. well… thank goodness I keep one eye out for him because he gets carried away so easily and almost put 1/4c of baking soda in here! hahaha. I laughed and laughed. Sometimes I truly think that man is trying to be banned from the kitchen, but I’m always thankful for his help and the laughter.  I am not clever enough to come up with my own recipes really, so I will do better about giving credit where credit is due and exploring other peoples recipes and offering the opinions of our fine palates… every now and then I will have something to offer in regards to a tweek…. anyway, I got this recipe from The Freckled Foodie.

1/3c coconut flour
1/4c almond meal
1/4tsp baking soda
1/4tsp salt
2Tbsp cinnamon
1tsp nutmeg

4 eggs
1/2c full fat coconut milk
1tsp vanilla extract
1T pure maple syrupl1T grass fed butter, me (Kerrygold is the brand used)
2 medium Pink Lady apples (skinned and shredded)
1/4-1/2c water
coconut oil to grease skillet

1. sift or whisk dry ingredients in large bowl
2. whisk eggs, coconut milk, vanilla, maple syrup, and melted butter well
3. add the wet to the dry ingredients and stir
4. Add shredded apple stirring until well mixed
5. Let the batter sit for 5 minutes and then add water to make it the consistency you prefer
6. Heat skillet to 300 degrees** and lightly coat with coconut oil
7. using just less than 1/4c of batter per pancake seems to have the best results
8. let cook for 4-6 min or until you can see bubbles coming to the top and then flip to cook 4-5 more
9. Serve topped with almond butter, maple syrup, walnuts, apple butter….. (We used syrup)

**I don’t have a skillet or griddle to determine how hot it is and made the small mistake of making them like you normally make pancakes… skillet over medium high… that coconut oil can turn on you pretty quick. It’s definitely better to allow them to cook slowly no matter how hungry you think you may be.

IMG_0276[1] Did YOU know this about chinese food? I sure didn’t. My little mind was BLOWN! I almost cancelled dinner plans last night for a recon mission. hahaha. I haven’t earned a cheat of epic proportions yet so contained the urge. I am glad too, dinner was colorful and delicious with Lemon Dill Tilapia (olive oil, fresh lemon, sprig or two of fresh dill, salt and pepper, wrap up in aluminum foil, bake 350 for 17min), sauteed sweet potatoes, and a little side salad. Simple and delicious.

IMG_0286[1]

IMG_0284[1]One last bit of humor before I go and attempt to snag another little nap here at work. 🙂 Happy Hump Day!!!

Leave a Reply

