Sunshine Rd 18miler

IMG_0944 IMG_0945 Lollygagged around the house preparing myself to go drive onto base (a route I’ve never taken) to run a road I’ve never seen. That just didn’t appeal to me. The enthusiasm that was a CrossFitter’s (killed the workout) high had worn off through the night and I was staring the 18mi realization square in the eyes.

The picture on the left is what I brought for post run. I never can predict what I’ll want so I bring everything. The almonds are soaking in salt water to soften them and provide some electrolytes.  The picture on the right is my camelback and the GU I brought. Hands free for the first time.

I left the house around 730 (a full 45min later than I wanted)… The sun was rising and my gosh it was gorgeous.  I arrived to my starting point around 820.  It was 44 degrees… It was time to warm up running down Sunshine Road

IMG_0955IMG_0959 IMG_0957

IMG_0962I started to move. I felt stiff. Felt like I didn’t belong, I’ve been having some problems with my knee and ankle and I was whining about that inside my head.
1mi in…. Where the hell did that hill come from! I mean, Paul warned me it was hilly but I thought it was just because he is carrying a ruck while he’s out here
2.33mi  Pandora stopped playing???? No freakin’ service! So I seriously doubt MapMyRun is working…. I looked at my time on mapmyrun, started stopwatch and my music, and continued trotting
Soon after, I realize there are numbers on the road and I find myself wishing I had started at 0, but I didn’t. Damn.
I decided to run 1:39 one direction and then turn around and run back. I based my calculations on 10:30/mi with an extra 9min total due to the hills (and there were plenty, I assure you).
???mi holy mother of wonton soup… these hills never end.
???mi ow. ow. ow. my quads hurt. I should probably run this route more…. I clearly need the conditioning
???mi *keep checking time* WHY AM I NOT HALFWAY DONE YET.
?mi shit. I need to turn off this road, I still need to run for 12 more min.
FINALLY… halfway… let’s go home. I started up the mapmyrun app just to test and see if it would run and be remotely accurate without service 100% of the time.
IMG_0961I wish I was as tall as my shadow, then I could take less steps!
DON’T let the pretty blue sky distract you. This hill was a pain in my ass.
Up. Down. Up. Down.
Man, I feel great. This is awesome.
GUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU
Ow! My feet feel bruised.
My marathon is gonna kill me.
HEY LOOK! There’s the car!
Stop stopwatch, glance at MapMyRun…
9.33…… hmm…
Oh damn! I gotta peeeeeee.
*looks all around and finds a spot in the woods*

IMG_0967IMG_0970I went and tracked back… I did actually run 18.66mi… and it took me 3:11:40… I’ll take it! 🙂 My second half was about 8min faster than the first half 🙂

Then I went home to an attention starved pup and made myself a small midday breakfast feast. 🙂 We played fetch until she was exhausted and then I went to hang out with a friend for a few hours. I ate wings, ice cream, and played at Toy R Us. It was a great day.

IMG_0947IMG_7158IMG_0972

4 thoughts on “Sunshine Rd 18miler

  1. Pingback: 21 Mile Training Run… CHECK | The Road to Physical Fitness

Leave a Reply

