CrossFit and Chick Flicks

Little bit of time travel back to Wednesday, because like we all know… I am a terrible blogger…

It was my off day for running with a long run in the cross hairs Thursday, it was the perfect opportunity to drag myself down to CrossFit and see what I could do, right? We looked for a one rep max of hang cleans. For some reason hang cleans are awkward for me… anywho! I FINALLY GOT TRIPLE DIGITS! On the nose. 100. I psyched myself out when trying to accomplish 105… and I did 95# 3x which was my previous record so while I felt defeated, I felt like a champ. Odd feeling. ha. Next up was “Grace” 30 clean & jerks for time. I did 75#…. I was in heat two and was just going to start on an even minute on the clock. I got 6 reps in when I was stopped.  Apparently, they were going to restart the clock. Hurray for a “warmup” It took me almost five and a half minutes, but I don’t care. I was the last one done and think my coach was just as excited if not more so than I was. It was neat to have the people in my gym cheering for me the way that they were. It was an awesome little CrossFit moment for me. The odd thing was when I finished, my feet cramped… where the “arches” are. I say it with quotations because I don’t have arches. I feel like that part of my foot is so flat it’s actually convex. It was terrible…

So, I took my husband onto base bright and early Sunday morning… so that he could leave for two weeks to try and obtain the Expert Field Medic Badge (a pretty big deal for a soldier in the medical field)…

Now I’m obsessed with chick flicks. I had this HUGE to get done list of tasks around the house. I’ve managed to run and not kill the dog. ha. I think I’m watching “chick flick” number 5 or 6 or so right now. NOT IN A ROW! Come on folks, I have standards!

I’m currently watching Love Actually (reeeeally enjoy this one). I have pwatched The Other Woman, Tyler Perry’s Good Deeds, The Rebound, One For the Money, Lovestruck: The Musical, and Intolerable Cruelty. I also have watched the Prince of Egypt, the Nightmare Before Christmas, and the Lorax! I still have more on the to view list… like Safe Haven, Treasure Island, Atlantis, Mirror Mirror, and Upside Down (because I adore Jim Sturgess)… Chick Flick and children’s films kick. Don’t judge. I’m gonna chalk it up to the fact that these are the films Paul, the hubby, would rather not see them. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it. 🙂

I shall share the story of my long run from yesterday later. Now it is time to get cleaned up and turn in a job application to Big Dog Running (for a part time position at a running store… YES PLEEEEEEASE) and then take the pooch for a walk. My legs are locked up and pissed off so I’m hoping to make them feel better by going for a stroll followed by some yoga and a nap when I return home. I am contemplating CrossFit this evening but the WOD includes walking weighted lunges and 400m runs, I am not sure how much of a “run” I am capable of, but it’s the new hero WOD “White”…… and I work 12hr overnight tonight… busy busy busy!

What’s your favorite “chick flick” or Disney movie? or favorite movie for that matter?
What do you do the day after a long run?

2 thoughts on “CrossFit and Chick Flicks

Leave a Reply

