The Glare From Across the Room

ImageSo here I am… 0630 in the morning having devoured my piece of ezekial bread toast with peanut butter, chia seeds, raisins, and cinnamon on top patiently awaiting time for me to struggle into my lime green compression socks (the only real ones I own) and then hit the road to go run my 10k. But that story shall come later today! I’m here to write about yesterday! ❤ i AM so excited to tell you about yesterday!!!!!!!

I got home at 945am from working my 12hr shift. Played fetch with the pooch. Took a bath (and a nap) for 30 min. Made a grocery list. Researched Beachbody programs I would be interested in. Talked on the phone with a Beachbody coach with all kinds of questions and things (she was able to diffuse a lot of my aversion to the idea of selling and coaching a product). The only problem that remains is my antisocial tendencies.  Okay, okay so that’s nothing to be so excited about…

Then the hubby came home and it was time to design a CrossFit workout for us since Fridays at our box means Hero WOD and I need to work on strength (Strength is my main focus right now since I have a cardio base with running). We decided upon 1RM of strict press (aka shoulder press or military press). I had us warm up with turkish getups (5 reps per side rotation for a total of 3 rounds per side) and that’s a nice way to warm up the whole body and work on some balance and grace!  We found our 1RM (I was able to push 75lb and Paul managed 100lb). Then it was time for my WOD.

Jayme’s Upper Body and Core (mini)WOD
3 Rounds For Time
5 Wall Walk Ups
10 Burpees
15 Dips
20 Russian Twists
15 PushUps
10 Hollow Rocks
5 DB Push Press (25#)

I would be lying if I told you that was easy. It wasn’t. It took me 15:36 and Paul 16:20 (who did Round 1 with 35# DBPP). Now for the best part. While we were dying (particularly with the wall walk-ups) I looked up at one point to see a glare from across the room… this awful, terrible “Go to hell” look from my loving husband… I glanced over to see that look a few times to be frank. I smiled every time. Upon completion I got the greatest compliment ever! He told me that we are getting a divorce. haha. That translates to “Good job designing a killer WOD babe”. WIN! 🙂 🙂 Last Friday I got a sorta go to hell look and that was an appropriate mini WOD. I kinda blew past mini and almost made it to full blown. One more round, mayyyybe two if we hadn’t done 1RM Strict Press. 🙂 It’s nice to know that WHEN I FINALLY am able to have my own box (that’s my dream) I can design killer WODs 🙂 That glare and that compliment put some pep in my step. haha. 🙂

Time to get up hair up and head on down to get my race on. Happy Saturday people!

What are you doing today?!
Tell me a dream of yours!

Leave a Reply

