Bear Complex with a Disney Confession

All day yesterday I was looking forward to CrossFit because we were doing the Bear Complex for one rep max.
The Bear Complex is a series of 5 movements (1. Power Clean 2. Front Squat 3. Push Press 4. Back Squat 5. Push Press) that counts as one repetition.
First of all, that is BRUTAL. That second push press coming off the back is tough taters.
Second of all, it turns out you don’t get any stronger if you only go to CrossFit 2x a week.
So I shouldn’t be disappointed in my success with 85# and the fact that I BARELY failed with 95.  It was the second push press that got me, I couldn’t lock out my elbow. SO CLOSE.
LESSON LEARNED: I will make time for an additional day or two of strength work at my box. The goal is 3-5 days a week with 2-3 of them being strength work. I also run 4 days a week.

Now for my Disney confession:

Today is chores and organization day. I’m doing laundry (including bedding) and have vacuumed out my car.  I have planned next weeks meals in “Operation Clean Out the Freezer” fashion and made a grocery list… all while listening to Disney music.  I have developed my Top 10 Disney song list too.  2-8 were so hard for me to rank it was silly.  This magnificent list is as follows…
10. Mary Poppins- Chim Chim Cheree
9. Hercules- One Last Hope
8. The Lion King- Be Prepared
7. Hercules- I Won’t Say I’m in Love
6. Aladdin- Friend Like Me
5. The Little Mermaid- Kiss The Girl
4. Beauty and the Beast- Belle
3. The Nightmare Before Christmas- Jack Lament
2. The Little Mermaid- Under the Sea
and the #1 Disney song in my opinion……………………………………….
1. Mulan- I’ll Make A Man Out of You
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZSS5dEeMX64

I’m having a super lame Friday… I know. I had a friend ask me to go out, I had to turn him down because I have to run 8 miles later. This is how a day in the life of a fitness/nutrition junkie goes!
Busy weekend anyway.  I work the Auburn football game on bike patrol for EMT coverage tomorrow noon to 6pm and then move inside for the game. I’ll get home around midnight or so.
Then I leave around 3am to get to Atlanta in time to get to my volunteer station for the half marathon up there. It’s my first time volunteering.  Then cheat meal day! yayyyyyyyyyyyyy.

Leave a Reply

